15
Jul
10

My Experience with the Miller’s Analogies Test

I recently took the Miller’s Analogies Test.

After scheduling it and before taking it, there was one question I searched many times; “Can you study for the MAT?”  I had no success in finding an answer, so I intend to answer it here on my blog.

Before you read any further here is what you should know.  I made a 461.  I haven’t received my official notification.  That is the preliminary score given to me at the end of the test.  I have no idea whether that is a good or bad score.  I do not know where it ranks on the percentile nor do I know what is required by most grad schools.  I do know that the one of the departments at the school where I took the exam requires a 381, so I was well above that.  But just be warned that you may be taking advice from a moron in analogies. <update> I have received my official score.  It turns out that my 461 is the 99th percentile.  So you are not taking advice from an analogical moron. </ update>

Now…onto the question

Can you study for the Miller’s Analogies Test?

In short, the answer is no.

You cannot study for the exam.  It is pretty much going to test your ability to think analogically.

Even though you cannot study for the test, you can prepare for it, have a strategy, and be familiar with the types of analogies and the categories that appear on the test.  There are a multitude of practice exams on the web, some are good, some are not.  I’ll offer what tips I can.

  1. Even though there are spelling errors, and annoying ads, this is the best set of practice questions I found.  The timed format is very similar to the actual exam.
  2. It is helpful if you are somewhat of a polymath.  There are math, history, science, and literature analogies on the exam.  My version had analogies with simple algebraic formulas, relationships between dictators, chemical symbols, countries and capitals.
  3. There is no substitute for a good vocabulary.  All through seminary I kept a running list of all the words I had to look up. I haven’t mixed them into my vocabulary regularly, but more than a few appeared on the exam.  The difference in reading a word in a book versus reading it in an analogy is context.  You have no contextual cues to tell you what inchoate means; you pretty much need to know it in order to say how it relates to nascent.
  4. You are allowed a piece of scratch paper, use it.  Use it to remember the numbers of the analogies that stumped you, use it to work on math problems.  Use it to restructure the analogies in hopes that they make sense to you.
  5. Do not be freaked out by the time.  You have 60 minutes to complete 120 analogies.  The ones you know will take you way under 30 seconds, you can use the spare time to work-out the ones you don’t.
  6. Don’t be freaked out.  The test is hard.  It’s supposed to be hard. Unless you are a genius you are not going to know them all, so relax.
  7. Use all your time.  Unless you are confident of every answer, (in which case you don’t need to read this) you should use the remaining time to get the ones you are still unsure of
  8. Be alert and limit distractions.  I’m sure everyone reading this already knows this, but I’m going to say it anyway.    The test is nothing to be afraid of, but you should get some exercise the day before so you can sleep well through the night.  Eat breakfast, and go to the bathroom before you take it.  No need for distractions.

Here was my strategy.  I went through the test answering the ones I knew and making a guess at the ones I didn’t.  Usually even if the answer is not clear, some of the options seem obviously wrong.  I made an educated guess in case I didn’t have time to get back to it.  I also wrote down the number of the analogies I didn’t know so I could come back.  (At one point I wrote down 7 analogies in a row.  See #6 above.)  When I finished my initial run-through, I had 23 minutes remaining. I used those 23 minutes to review the many questions I was unsure of.  Some of them clicked for me, some of them I felt confident I was making my best guess, and a few of them I was utterly stumped.  There was one about tennis that I never had a clue about.

That’s it.  That is my best attempt at answering the question “can you study for the MAT?” If you find this helpful, feel free to tell me in the comments how you did.

63 Responses to “My Experience with the Miller’s Analogies Test”


  1. 1 John D
    August 1, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    I just got my MAT score back (492, also 99th percentile, actually 99.9th). I read a lot about the test before I took it and especially since. Not so much with respect to how to study for it (or if studying is possible) but to understand it’s acceptance by grad programs, its correlation with GREs and SATs, its validity as an intelligence test, etc. I know that scores of 500+ are very rare; well, they would have to be if my 492 is already at the 99.9th percentile. A scaled score of 507, someone told me, is at the 99.9887 percentile (yes, people want to know this—though the MAT people only report 99th percentile for all of these scaled scores). I think your advice about how to actually take the test, manage your time, use scrap paper, put down your best answer (rather than leave it blank) in case you run out of time to go back—all of this pretty much describes how I took the test. Still, all of the test-taking strategies in the world cannot help you if your knowledge base is weak. And even a strong knowledge base will take you only so far; it pays to spend some time getting used to MAT-type analogies, the structure of them. A good study guide from Walden Books is all you need. I practiced for the test months before, doing about 3 or 4 complete 100 question tests under timed conditions (50 minutes) from the guide. (Note: the actual test is 120 questions, 60 minutes, 20 questions of which are being field tested for possible use in later formats of the test, though you have no way of knowing which are the “real” questions and which are not).

    • 2 John D
      August 1, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      By the way, the mean score on the MAT is 400 (on a scale of 200-600) so that program you mentioned with a 381 minimum score requirement is accepting students (or at least encouraging them to apply) who are well below the mean. Not to sound cruel, but I wonder if the dept. was education? Ed. majors typically have among the lowest MAT scores.

    • 3 Lee
      June 23, 2012 at 7:11 pm

      I just took the MAT. Honestly, it was a grueling hour. Some of the questions were extremely tricky, but as you said, it’s meant to be hard. I wasn’t sure how well I did, but it turns out I scored very high– 487. I’d advise people not to panic when you’re faced with 3 or 4 very tough questions in a row. I think everyone misses quite a few, but if you have a broad base of knowledge and can make educated guesses, you’ll do fine.

  2. 4 April
    September 23, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Are analogies posed as 1:2 with the answers posed as 1:2 or
    are analogies posed as 1:2::3: with the answers posed as 4

    Basically, are answers 1 word or 2?

    • September 23, 2010 at 1:21 pm

      most of the analogies are in this format
      1:2::3:____
      but some are
      1:___::3:4

      To answer your question directly the answers are not pairs, they are just one item

  3. October 2, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    This is great stuff. Thank you.

    I am learning about the MAT and how to best prepare.

    This has been one of the most helpful articles I’ve read, yet.

  4. 7 Dan
    October 5, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    The person above who said Ed majors typically score the lowest is incorrect. Business majors actually average 8 points lower than Education majors according to the Barron’s study guide I’m currently reading. Humanities type majors do the best, which should be expected from such a general knowledge based test.

  5. 8 John D
    October 16, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Dan, if you read my post carefully I said education majors “typically have AMONG the lowest” scores

  6. 9 Tagi
    March 14, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    When English is not my first language and when I am a foreign student
    What should I do then?! :(
    I tried to prepare but it is so hard for me
    Any advice ?

  7. March 23, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I too got a 461 on my MAT. I also happen to have a degree in education & I am currently enrolled in an Ed. Leadership grad. program.

    John D was right when he said education majors are “among the lowest”. If you look at the Psychcorp predictive validity study on the MAT, GRE, & GPA, education majors averaged a 411 which was below business, humanities, and natural science majors but above social science & the average score of all other majors. What is really ironic is that I am actually a Social Science/Education major.

    My advice to Tagi is to not take the MAT and instead take the GRE. The MAT may be a better predictor of success in graduate school than the GRE, but the MAT is also considerably biased towards Western, English speaking peoples (specifically Americans). Unfortunately, the GRE is more expensive, but I have a feeling that you will do better on it.

    I would also like to point out that even though the average person should score a 400, the average of actual test takers is over 400.

  8. 12 AAE
    June 9, 2011 at 2:37 am

    Are there any Study Guilds that one can read up on about taking the MAT’s?, I have a BA in Gen. Psychology , but will be going to Grad school Majoring in Clinical Mental Health Counselling. Some of the College’s that I have applied to gives you a choice to either take the MAT or the GRE, and was told that the MAT would be better suited for me to take.(comments welcomed) Jeremy, thanks for the heads up, I will take your study tactics into great consideration, comments are really needed and welcomed. Thanks Alex

  9. June 10, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Hey!

    I just wanted to say THANK YOU for posting this. I took the test this morning after having taken 3 practice tests in the last two days. I was surprised how little info is on the web about this test in terms of what you’ve written here.

    Anyway – this line brought me great relief both before and during the test:
    6# Don’t be freaked out. The test is hard. It’s supposed to be hard. Unless you are a genius you are not going to know them all, so relax.

    So thank you SO much for posting it!

  10. 14 Miwa
    July 26, 2011 at 1:18 am

    Thank you for posting this! I agree with the above poster, that there is surprisingly, very few message boards, or blogs on this topic. This is incredibly practical advice.

  11. 15 Robin
    January 5, 2012 at 7:20 am

    well I just got my BA from Eckerd College and I wish to attend Troy for a MHC. I consider myself to be a knowledgable person, but I feel fustrated after looking at the test. Most of the words I have no clue what they mean. I have never been good at Analogy. In fact some the questions I are from my studies in high school MANY YEARS ago. I am 37. I am really worried about this test.

  12. 16 Mimi
    February 20, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    FYI, Jeremy, this qualifies you for Mensa!

  13. 17 Karen
    March 8, 2012 at 11:25 am

    This was helpful information, thank you. The link to the practice tests was quite helpful too, although there were quite a few misspellings in the words which caused me to choose the wrong answers more than once! But it is free and as they say, you get what you pay for.

  14. 18 Lance
    March 16, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Does anybody have an idea of what the percentile rank (in Psychology) is for a projected score of 397?

  15. 19 Frank
    March 23, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    Actually this score qualifies you for the Triple Nine Society, much more exclusive than Mensa.

  16. 20 Lara
    April 27, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    I’m preparing to take it and appreciated your advice! I’ll see how it goes :)

  17. May 19, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    I can’t help but freak out. I’m taking the test on Tuesday. I don’t feel prepared and have an awful fear of the unknown. I am trying to get into the graduate program at Winthrop University. I have a study guide and got half way through the practice test and fell apart. I’m 46 and have a BA in English. I haven’t been in school for a long while. I also have credits for a Master’s in Elementary Education. Ok vent over. Thank you for this blog and all the other comments. I just feel so doomed. I just can’t imagine passing this test. It seems unobtainable for me personally.

    • 22 Kevin
      May 30, 2012 at 10:00 pm

      Michelle, I feel similar to you. I’m 40 and graduated with my BA 17 years ago. I’m curious to know how you feel now that you’ve taken it. My suggestion is to google test anxiety/relaxation techniques, eat healthy and take your vitamins, and do some light exercise or meditation/yoga. I’m going to try to study vocabulary and some basics in all areas just to increase my knowledge base but I realize my biggest problem is my fear and anxiety.

      • 23 Kevin
        October 9, 2012 at 11:30 pm

        It’s me, Kevin, back again. I took the test. I got a 404. That seems kind of low to me and I studied a lot. Truth by told, I don’t think studying made much difference. It wasn’t the vocabulary that stumped me as much as it was the analogies. Many questions I just guessed because I couldn’t figure out the pattern, or in my mind, I saw multiple ways some of the things could be put into analogies so I wasn’t sure what pattern they were wanting. Anyway, if my score is lower than the school wants, then I’ll go take the GMAT, but for now I’m hoping it’s good enough.

    • 24 Rick
      October 6, 2012 at 11:02 am

      OK….I can’t stand it ! How did you do ? I take mine Oct 15th and I’m freaking out too…49 yrs old with a Masters but I haven’t been to school in a LONG time. How’d you do ?

  18. 25 Jorge D
    June 19, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Michelle, how did you do?

  19. 26 MMB
    July 14, 2012 at 10:45 am

    I am 46…and had the same fears as Michelle. My anxiety was high when I took the exam, so I was worried I would freak myself out of even knowing what I knew!! Remember, it is ONE test. They look at more than just your score on the MAT for grad school! Lots of those that score very high are also those that lack skills in other areas (no offense to those that are scoring hight :) I used an MAT study book I got off line – cheap. My results…420. Would have liked it a bit higher – but that’s above the average – and glad it’s over! Thanks for the posts – they were helpful

  20. 27 jess
    August 15, 2012 at 10:59 am

    How long did it take your scores to get reported to a university. I am cutting it close on the deadline.

    • 28 Zina
      August 28, 2012 at 2:12 pm

      Thank you ALL for your posts. I am 49 yrs old and praying that I will do well on the MAT. The memory isn’t what it used to be! I must say, your posts have been encouraging.

  21. 29 nycnita
    October 12, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    I am 51 and wanting to enrolli n a Ed PHd Program at Pepperdine in the fall. Although I’m masters prepared , I suck at anaolgies :( ,is there some type of study guide to understand analogies

  22. 30 Robin
    October 14, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    I am 51 and will be taking the exam in November. I am so stressed out, I am about to drive my crazy. I have a B.S. in Criminal Justice, but the pratice text for the MAT leave me feeling like I don’t have much education. Thank you so much for the blog…I will continue to study and do my best. Will let you know my score once I receive it.

  23. 31 Melia
    October 23, 2012 at 10:34 am

    I took the MAT 5 years ago. My sister called and asked how I studied for it, and I found your blog as I was surfing the net looking for a particular study guide I used. Having taken the test, All I can say is amen. You are exactly right in your assessments. Your tips are excellent. Anyone who is preparing, take his advice.

  24. 32 julia
    November 18, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Hello, is there a math portion on the MAT?

  25. December 13, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    I took my MAT tonight and got 410, which I’m happy with! I visited this blog often while I was studying and it was quite helpful. While you can’t really “study”, I doubt I could have gotten the score I wanted without the study guide I purchased. It gave me practice with the test format, helped guide me to making educated guesses and gave me the confidence I needed to not go into the test blind.

    Also, as a tip I wish I would have concentrated more on reviewing vocab words instead of the more trivia-related things like historical figures, science and math terms, etc.

    Everyone I’ve talked to that took this test has said, “You’ll be fine.” And they’re right. I’m not sure how the scoring works, but I’m just guessing it’s favorable of you passing. Just sayin’.

    GOOD LUCK! YOU CAN DO IT!!!!

  26. 35 Allison
    January 19, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    I’m taking the test in a couple of days and am nervous as all get out! I found a very helpful study guide that seems to focus on strategies for taking the test. It’s well done http://www.studyguidezone.com/pdfs/matteststudyguide.pdf

  27. 36 Leslie
    February 4, 2013 at 7:39 pm

    I took the exam this morning and got a raw score of 414. It’s been 30 years since I have taken a standardized test so I feel pretty good about it. There were quite a few math questions on my exam. I was glad I have been helping my son in college algebra – I had a clue what they were asking. There were a lot of words I didn’t know and found myself trying to figure out the root. I came out of it wishing I had taken Latin and advanced math in school. Best advice I can give is to give yourself plenty of time to get to your testing center, and get yourself in a testing frame of mind before you go. I did a few practice questions to get myself thinking along the right lines before I left the house this morning. Good luck everyone!

  28. 37 Patience
    February 8, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    I will take the test on February 21 and I am NERVOUS, I know so much shouldn’t be riding on this test, I understand the ANXIETY is normal, but I took the practice test on the MAT website and didn’t do so good, although I don’t know what good is, but I STUNK it up, at any rate, I am stumped at how to better prepare! Any suggestions would be GREAT!!!

  29. 38 Cole Sanders
    February 9, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    This advice was perfect. I actually took the MAT a few weeks ago and fell flat on my face. I am planning on taking it again in a week or two in hopes that I get a high enough score for my masters program.

  30. 39 Melissa Yarbrough
    February 15, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    I am 53 years old and last took the GRE in the fall of 1987. My preliminary scaled score on the MAT today was 463. Not bad for a grandma who finished her master’s in 1996. Another salient point…. I am an education major and practitioner.

  31. 40 Trinity
    February 18, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    Before I begin my rant, let me say this blog was extremely helpful! I’ve been putting this test off for awhile. After several failed attempts to have an admissions advisor “override” the grad exam requirement for me, I’m thinking I might go on Friday to take the test. “Thinking” is the optimal word. With applications due in June for the fall term, I need to get myself in gear. The school I’m applying to requires a 40 percentile or higher on the MAT. Does anyone know what that is equivalent to? More importantly, is that an obtainable goal or will I be reaching for the stars? In any case, congratulations to everyone on their scores and good luck on being accepted into your schools of choice!!

    • 41 Mat-Val-taker
      February 28, 2013 at 11:49 am

      Made a 391, wondering is that’s good enough. My school just requires the exam and doesn’t have a minimum score listed. :/ I wanted at least a 400. I doubt retaking it would get me a much higher score. What do y’all think? I’m applying for masters in nursing, nurse practitioner route!

    • 42 Amie
      March 14, 2013 at 3:50 pm

      I think 40 percentile would be around a score of 300. because 400 is the 50th percentile. I just took my MAT today and got a 400.

  32. 43 Ellie
    March 5, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    I just got my MAT results- have a BS and have not taken a college class since 1995, got my BS in 1982 in Sociology, but also took classes in education and science and am a certified Medical Tachnologist, although I’ve work in social services for the past 10 years. Scored 94 percentile overall, 98 for Psychology- don’t know why I chose Psych as plan to do Social Sciences. Recommend doing practice tests, reveiw something like Barrows- I did a little but not much time to do so- but did tne MAT because I wanted quick, cheap, and scores before March 1. I think a little more review in Barrows may have helped a few points.

  33. 44 Ellie
    March 7, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    sorry for the typos in above statement- I used the Barrons study guide- it helped me review info and I actually remember a couple of analogies from it that were on the test or very similar analogies

  34. 45 Amber
    March 22, 2013 at 11:43 am

    I plan on taking the test next month, and slightly freaking out about it. This site has eased my mind a bit. I did find this site that had practice questions and there wasn’t spelling mistakes. http://www.majortests.com/mat/miller-analogies-test-practice.php

  35. 46 Alex
    April 2, 2013 at 10:00 am

    Hey Guys-took it cold-one day advance notice I needed to take it for last minute entrance to Doctoral Program employer agreed to pay for at last minute. Went online to practice on free tests. Went nest am-did practice tests for 1 hour-then took MAT-Made a 416. Which was considered acceptable. I do have a Masters in Psychology and Nursing-not sure which helped most. Take the practice tests BEFORE the test that day-it gets your brain on right track anbd dont stress over it.Alex

  36. 47 ash24
    April 2, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Does anyone know what percentile a preliminary score of 391 would be in? The testing center looked at a sheet from 2007 and said it was 40th percentile but I know starting this year, 2013 they are adding new norms so percentiles may have changed a bit. Anyone know more?

  37. 48 TEEK
    May 4, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    All advice here is helpful. I have one important tip that helped me particularly which I will explain. But if you’ve read widely, reflected on things, know the meanings of words and how they are derived, then you ought to do well. I would think the youngish early-20s person just trying to get into a grad school might be better off taking the GRE. Also I agree that a non-native English speaker could easily struggle with the MAT (sorry). I didn’t use the scratch paper much. Try a study guide and see for yourself.

    majortests.com had good matierials (hope it’s not a spyware site) and here was the best that helped me:
    http://psychcorp.pearsonassessments.com/hai/Images/dotCom/milleranalogies/pdfs/TheMATStudyGuide.pdf

    What paid off for me too was skipping questions / time management. Early on in the test, when I knew the terms but couldn’t quite piece together the analogy, I skipped it to come back to it. And then I skipped another. And another. It started to get frustrating But I kept skipping, maybe every fourth or fifth question at some points. Felt like a lot. But when I revisited them at the end, the answers usually came to me. So if you get stuck on a question you think you ought to solve, just come back to it. If the analogy is instantly clear to you, answer it and go to the next. Also, if you know you have no hope (a couple proper nouns were completely unrecognizable to me), make your best quick guess and move on. Save the time for the questions you know you can figure out.

    If you know your Greek philosophers, Ohms and Amperes, American battles, those sorts of things might comprise 10-15 or so of the questions. Not much about sports so you’re good there. Another good thing to know: it’s not so easy to rule out answers. In the Napoleon/baker example, I had no idea a Napoleon was a pastry and baker looked like a ridiculous option, but there you have it. Bottom line: skipping questions really worked out well for me.

  38. May 8, 2013 at 3:54 am

    Hey guys and girls, I am a 53-year-old male with a BA in criminal justice/minor in psych, I took the MAT on March 23, 2013. I applied for a Masters program and needed the MAT as part of the admission requirements. I’ve never been a good student, although I graduated cum laude (go figure), and I was really worried about having to take this test. I fretted for a month knowing there was really no way to study for this and spent most my extra time going over what online free test I could locate. My suggestions? Study what you can online, get a good nights rest and wake up early enough to get some coffee in you (or whatever gets you going), study for a good hour or so but don’t stress and then go take the test. It was a very tough one hour, but I answered all the questions in just under 50 min., leaving me enough time to go back over the four or five analogies I really struggled with. None of the analogies were rocket surgery, just knowledge you’ve gained from different undergraduate courses. My test had several analogies dealing with the names of inventors, doctors of different fields and artist. Some I recognized, some I’d never heard of, so I went with my best guess. Thankfully there was very little math involved, maybe two or three analogies and they were fairly basic in nature I thought. I have a terrible memory and I think that this goes to the core of this test, it’s basically recall and the application of the analogy. I’m no Mensa candidate, but I managed to score 420 which put me in the 84 percentile of my chosen Masters program and the 81 percentile of overall testtakers. I must admit, I was elated and stunned when I received my official score. If you would have asked me at the end of the test before receiving the unofficial score, I would have guessed I had failed miserably, but it wasn’t the case after all. Honestly, if I can pass this test, anybody can.

  39. 50 thebeachmom
    May 16, 2013 at 11:01 am

    anyone know what a 410 translates into for a percentage?

  40. 51 Lindsay
    June 16, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    I’m so happy I found this page! The advice is helpful and encouraging as there is not very much info about the MAT, especially compared to all the GRE stuff out there. I’m 30, and finished my B.A. (human services) in 2011, and I’m now taking the MAT in hopes of getting into a Masters of Arts in Teaching program at Austin Peay. Super nervous, but I feel this is the best option for me because I’m bad, like really bad at math. Similar to someone who posted before, I’m not a very good student, but I graduated magna cum laude, so,…whatever that’s worth. I have been taking practice tests online, my results vary. But I am wondering how the questions on the free practice tests compare to the questions on the real test.

    I’m scheduled for July 25th,…..but I don’t handle stress well, so I’m thinking of moving to a sooner date…..get it over with…..

  41. 52 Autumn
    July 10, 2013 at 12:12 am

    Happy I also came across this post as well because reading all the different experiences helped to alleviate some worries I had and kept me very motivated in prepping for this exam. I took the Mat today for the first time ever and scored a 423, so I am pretty stoked!!! I started prepping about 2 months ago and I thought I was an idiot for waiting so long to prep as there is a lot of vocab that should be studied, as well as a variety of humanities, mathematics, science, social sciences, etc. I bought Mat for Dummies which came out this year. It has 6 practice tests and they certainly helped a lot. It also taught me how to analyze the different types of analogies, such as 1234, 1324, playful, parts, similar/different, type, and description. Just prep, not necessarily study because there is only so much you can study and already know from previous classes and knowledge. Too much information in this world and a whole hell of a lot of words. I was extremely nervous today and felt like i didn’t know about 50-65% of the analogies on the test, but i knew how to read most of them out and guess on them because of prepping. Good Luck and Best Wishes to all! It is not an easy test whatsoever.

  42. 53 Karen
    July 11, 2013 at 11:57 am

    Next week is d- day for me and we’ll I’m more than nervous about it. Special Education Masters is where I’m heading but I have a undergraduate in Graphics and Marketing. No math skills but I’m great at Jepordy – so I’m hoping for the best. Great to be in so good company as so many here seem to be the over 40 crowd. Finally figuring out what I am supposed to do with the rest of my life…..hope the test allows that to happen😳

  43. 54 Pinky
    July 22, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    I feel good that I found this page I am wondering how will I do it as I find it new i am just goin through the test papers and I don’t know how far will this help me out

  44. 55 Alex
    August 8, 2013 at 1:51 am

    I’m taking the MAT this weekend, and I was wondering if the analogies are about the same difficulty level as the analogies used on the website you provided? It seems to be the easier of the three different sites I’ve been using.

  45. 56 Brianna
    August 14, 2013 at 11:48 am

    Thanks so much for the advice! This has really helped me prepare!

  46. August 16, 2013 at 11:12 am

    Does anyone know if the official scores change at all from the preliminary score? Say I need to have a 410 to get into a specific program, if I receive a 411 on the preliminary score report is it possible that my official score report will drop? Someone told me that it could change and I’m freaking out a little. THANKS!

  47. August 24, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    Hey guys! I am so elated that I found this blog! I’m taking the MAT next month and I am soooooo nervous. I’ve already pictured myself scoring a 210….I have the Barron’s MAT book and it is well written but I’m just not doing as well as I thought. Does anyone know if the difficulty levels are the same on the test as it is in the book? Thanks in advance. Congrats to all that have taken it and good luck to those that will!!!

    • October 10, 2013 at 4:34 pm

      Just wanted to share my experiences… I took the MAT today and have a preliminary scaled score of 416. WoW, what a hard test!!! I answered all the questions in just under 50 minutes and did not go back to recheck any of them. I was so mentally spent that there was no point in looking at them again, and I likely would have made fatigue errors in second guessing myself. I used the newest edition of the Barron’s guide and felt like the test questions were much more complex and difficult than what was in the Barron’s guide.

      I am currently an undergrad, age 39, majoring in education and psychology at a large public university. I’ve been ranked in the top 5% of my class for the past 2 years and have a GPA of 3.8+. I’ve also taken the Praxis I and the VCLA, and aced both of them, scoring in the 90+ percentile. I consider myself to be a good test taker, and perhaps I did not prepare as much as a should have due to overconfidence.

      What I found most difficult what that I saw multiple connections in the terms given and it was difficult in such a short period of time to figure out which would be the best choice. Also, I found that I had more math questions than I expected, maybe 10 or so, and half of those were geometry related (my big weakness). I walked out of the testing center completely drained and I did wonder if I could have achieved a comparably higher score if I had taken the GRE instead. There are multiple GRE prep programs and routes to study, whereas the nature of the MAT does not allow for the same type of preparation. You really do need to be well versed in the liberal arts, and you need to be able to deconstruct analogies, at a rapid pace. I think it would be particularly challenging for a non-native English speaker.

      I won’t retake the test, as my Master’s program requires a 386 and I’ve exceeded that score. For the record, my practice tests at home, using Barron’s, had me at 425-430 range, so my score of 416 was a bit disappointing. Hope this helps you all out there as you prep for your own test.

  48. September 15, 2013 at 12:03 am

    I just took a practice MAT to see how I’d do…paid $30 on the Pearson site, and probably should have tried a couple free tests first, as I had no idea what I was getting into. Anyway, the practice test didn’t give me a score, just a percentile range – looks like 75-95%ish. Any idea what that would be score-wise? I assume the 50th percentile is where the 400′s lie…but am not positive. It isn’t within a specific group, just the MAT norm group.

    This blog is great, btw. I plan to do some more practicing just to get in the groove of the different types of analogies.

    Thank you!

  49. December 3, 2013 at 12:19 am

    I am considering in taking the MAT. I took 2 practice tests (cold, no study). On first practice test I scored 44 and on the second I scored 40. However, when I took the first MAT practice test directly from its website I scored 26. I counted the raw score (the number of questions answered correctly) and it says 32. I contacted MAT and I was told that score of 26 is correct. I am confused right now. Can anbody explain? The MAT has 3 practice tests in all so from all these practice tests what percentage of practice questions from these tests will appear on the real MAT?

  50. December 13, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    I took the MAT today and scored a 410. What I WISHED I’d done (if I’d had more time to prepare) was that the best way to study is to READ READ READ…and write down EVERY word you don’t know, and look it up. I also studied “MAT Test for Dummies” book and it was SO helpful! There are 6 practice tests for it, and lots of tips and helpful hints to study! It helped me a LOT. I would have done much worse without that book. But the best thing to “teach” me vocabulary was by reading articles and papers, intellectual material type stuff. I am happy with my 410, it’s above average, whew….

  51. January 9, 2014 at 2:08 pm

    Congratulations, both on your fantastic score and an inspirational blog discussion!

    I do believe that a certain amount of preparation is possible for the MAT by reading the Barron’s and/or other books. The content in the books can help refresh some rusty concepts / terminology that are lying dormant in the deeper recesses of the mind but you need to know the stuff prior as it usually takes years to accumulate / retain.

    The MAT is a mile wide and an inch deep and that IMHO, defines it best.

    I gave the MAT a fair try today and I got a 455. I compute this to be in the 98th percentile via the links provided on another blog discussing the same topic.

    All the very best in your endeavors, Jeremy!


Leave a Reply

My Twitter Feed

My newest on Flickr

2010-12-28 20

Esau - Taken to test the camera on my HTC Evo

More Photos
The Wood Shed on Facebook
July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Political disclaimer

* Although I am a member of Edgewood Baptist Church, the views and opinions expressed in this blog are my own and not that of my church. They may not be construed as an endorsement or attack on any candidate or party on behalf of my church. They are my views as an individual.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

